The Post-Op Follow Up

So, the follow up… I don’t have many fibroids inside the uterus but the walls of the uterus are so full of fibroid material that it’s now between 2x and 3x it’s normal size. I also have fibroids the uterus – attached. I’m very disappointed because I had hoped that the cysts would be easily removed. The doctor has said I realistically have two choices: I can live with it or I can have a hysterectomy. Neither choice is very appealing.

I have another follow up at the hospital on 30th April to discuss all the possible side effects and to help me finally make a decision. I’ve started talking to Helios about the choices and he is very supportive – with whatever I decide.

These are the questions I have for my next appointment:

  1. Will I still be able to have an orgasm after the hysterectomy?
  1. My husband is very well endowed.  I don’t have problems accommodating him now.  Will I after the hysterectomy?
  1. Do I have to worry about vaginal prolapse?
  1. Where my organs will end up after the removal of my uterus?
  1. What is the best way to eliminate risk of ectopic pregnancy?  Will the fallopian tubes be removed?
  1. Would it be a good idea to continue my birth control tablets – bearing in mind I have PCOS and the recent surgery found no active endometriosis lesions?

I have to ask you, is there anything else I need to be aware of?  What issues have you encountered?  Any input that you may have will be gratefully appreciated!

Foxy