Laparoscopic Hysterectomy – My Experience

I’m home now.  My time at hospital was really nice.  I went in on Friday morning.  I was doing what I usually do: cracking jokes and trying to put everyone else at ease.  I figure it’s easy to feel good when everyone around you is relaxed.  I was 3rd on the list that morning so I had some time to wait.

While I waited, I was asked again if I really wanted to keep my cervix – I am still at risk of cervical cancer with a cervix and so will still need to have smear tests.  If I need to have more surgery there, it will be harder than having everything out at once.  I said I wanted to keep it.   I told the nurse that part of the reason I was so keen to keep it for two reasons: the first was because of how I have orgasms.  I know my body well enough to know that I have vaginal, cervical and uterine orgasms.   Lucky for me the uterine orgasms were very rare indeed.  I think I had two or three over my lifetime.  The most recent one made me felt as though I’d been kicked in the womb.  Consequently, I don’t think I’ll miss my uterus after all.  However, the other two are very common for me.  Vaginal orgasms, for me are nice but small.  I can have a few of those before I have a cervical orgasm.  It’s the cervical orgasm that instantly satisfies.  It’s a lot stronger than the vaginal ones.   Generally after a cervical orgasm I go straight to sleep.  Having said that, more recently, I would have back pain before I was able to fall asleep.

The second reason I wanted to keep my cervix is because I feel as though I’m still making up for lost time with my first husband.  I realise I have been with Helios for 6 years so I should have gotten over the whole “wasted time with the ex” thing but after 12 years of being with a man who only wanted to be physical with me once every 6 months or so, it’s little wonder I still chase Helios around the bed.  I’m delighted that Helios lets me catch him!

I think from the discussions I had, usually women choose a total hysterectomy when they get the chance to get the surgery.  I found out after my surgery that the lady across from me had everything removed.

What really surprised me was how many nurses remembered me.  As I was wheeled to theatre, I was chatting with the nurse and said “Thanks for the ride!”  I suppose they don’t get very many former Yanks in a UK hospital who are very good at cracking jokes.  I didn’t remember to write on my belly this time so I just told them that I was only in for a manicure and, when the anaesthetist was putting me to sleep I started singing:

“Good night sweetheart, well it’s time to go.  Doh Doh Dee Doh Doh…  Good night sweetheart well it’s time to go  Doh Doh Doh Doh  I hate to leave you but I really must say…  Goodnight sweetheart, Good night!”  OK, I didn’t get to finish but I made them smile.

While I was under, I understand, I had to have some fibroids cut away and removed via the laparoscopic tools in order to make my uterus small enough to pull through my vagina and cut my uterus away completely.

In recovery I was well looked after.  I had a bit of discomfort so I asked for some painkillers and was given oxygen.  I was sent back to my room.  I have three holes in my belly this time.

I was wheeled back to my multi-occupant room.  I know some people find multi-occupancy a bad thing but I was comforted by the fact the woman across from me was having the same operation and we got the chance to get to know one another just a little.  It was nice to have company.  Of course, I was cracking jokes and trying to let everyone feel better.

I had to stay overnight  because the nurses wanted to remove my catheter at about 11pm.  I dozed off and on the rest of the night.  I was finally allowed to go the next morning after I could prove that I could empty my bladder effectively.  I’m feeling amazing after the surgery.  So far I only have had ibuprofen and paracetamol for the pain; bearing in mind I’ve had so many problems with pain, I’m impressed I don’t need stronger medications after a major surgery!

Foxy

9 thoughts on “Laparoscopic Hysterectomy – My Experience

  1. I’m so happy to hear that the surgery went well for you. I can’t believe the long time lapse and how you stood living with the pain for so long after you made your surgery decision. You are so much stronger than I am. Once I decide I want something “fixed” I want it right now. Pain and I are enemies and I live with it everyday–the result of 4 spine surgeries that didn’t fix “the problem”. Osteoporosis and arthritis continue to erode my spinal column. My surgeon tells me the only way my spine might be fixed would be to break it and rebuild it. He told me the danger in that is accidentally damaging the spinal cord and if that happened, I would be wheelchair bound. He and I agreed that it is a step we wouldn’t take. He told me “you don’t heal quickly and you get infections easy”. Knowing that to be true, I live on pain pills–which don’t really take away the pain but just dulls it a bit so I can get around somewhat. I’m so proud of you for taking your problem into your own hands and demanding surgery. I’m just sorry you had to wait so long.

    Lv, Sandy

  2. Oh Sandy,
    I wish there was a better solution for your health problems than just taking pain medications. I know, first hand, how terrible living with pain is and how frustrating it is when the medications don’t work. I know how agonising it is to go to the doctor only to be told there is nothing to be done. The thing I’ve learned living with constant pain is to be grateful for the good days and for the blessings in my life. I think pain has actually made me a better person. I have empathy with others. I count myself lucky – even though I had to wait for relief. Sandy, pain isn’t necessarily always a bad thing – you just have to see the bright side.
    Foxy

  3. hello, i had a laparoscopic supracervical subtotal hysterectomy on Monday August 27 2012, 4 days ago. I stayed in the hospital one night after the surgery and was released the next day around noon. Aside from twinges of discomfort the first day or two, like when readjusting myself in bed, I have had no pain whatsoever. As early as yesterday (Thur August 30) it felt like i had had no surgery whatsoever. The only difference is a tendency to tire more easily. Today driving home, I feel as though no surgery was ever performed, no matter how I move. There was no pain with gas, either, you know, they pump your abdomen up with it to get room inside the abdominal cavity. I expected some residual pain from that. Now, I was so bloated that my shorts wouldn’t button up, but I walked per doctors instructions and the gas must have absorbed or something. Right now, the only indications I can detect of the surgery is mild itching at the places of the four tiny incisions.

    My doctor, Red Mateo Alinsod, is FANTASTIC, and surely had a big part in this. I kept my ovaries and uterus and started on bio-identical hormones the night of the surgery. I drove from Arizona to Laguna Beach just to have him as my surgeon. 🙂

  4. oops…they morcellated my uterus, i kept my CERVIX and ovaries. plus, when i say that i am driving home, i am in a car riding home, with someone else doing the driving.

  5. Hi Gayla1957
    Thanks so much for your comments. I hope you’re still feeling well after your surgery. I’m feeling stronger too. I’ve been having a short walk in the garden every day and doing very light housework. Did you find that your doctor was keen to remove your cervix? Mine certainly was!
    Foxy

Comments are closed.