Grateful for Endometriosis Awareness Month

As this is the last day of Endometriosis Awareness Month, I wanted to take a few moments to reflect:

  1. My surgery on 2nd March found no active Endometriosis.  OK, I have to say that I’m unhappy with a new diagnosis but at least I know what the problem is and am better prepared for another fight.
  2. My surgery on 2nd March gave me the perfect excuse to talk about Endometriosis with people with whom I wouldn’t normally talk about my health.  I was wary about mentioning my health at the office but felt I had no choice.  I wanted to turn my negative into a positive and I think I managed that.  I expect some people may treat me differently as a result of my discussions but, as I was displaying symptoms at the office, I felt that people would start to treat me differently negatively if I didn’t.   At least this way I am  in control of the information and they know I’m doing everything I can to feel healthy.
  3. Just before my surgery, I had my annual appraisal.  I was told that they were very impressed with my efforts over the last year.  Since then I’ve been told to expect a significant pay rise and a bonus.  I cannot discuss this at work because, due to economic climate, not everyone will be given a pay rise.  After the tough year I’ve had at the office, I feel I deserved it and am delighted that they recognise and value my efforts.
  4. Furthermore at work, I’ve been well looked-after.  I merely have to ask and various people have gone out of their way to lift and carry things for me.  I feel supported.  I am in a nurturing environment.  Oh sure, I work hard but after all the places I’ve been, it’s wonderful to feel appreciated.
  5. I have the constant and wonderful support of my husband.  He allows me to be who I am without trying to change me.  He supports every decision I make.  He never makes me feel guilty when I’m not feeling 100% and is great at helping when I need it.  I am stronger with him.