Endometriosis Awareness Month – Raising Awareness

I have found it difficult to discuss my health issues at work.  It’s a tricky one because I’m afraid that health disclosures will effect how I’m perceived in my job.  I’d hate to be discriminated against simply because I have illnesses.  I don’t want to be tarred with the stigma of having chronic illnesses in case it effects how I’m perceived and treated.  I cannot afford to lose my job.  In order to avoid this I generally don’t discuss my health issues with people at work.

However, I have been at this office since January 2010 and, I believe, have proved that I’m a reliable and determined member of staff.  I have completed a number of projects in good time and have enjoyed some new responsibilities thrown at me.

So when I arrived at work one morning in November I told my line manager and partner that I would need surgery, I was determined that I would get the “endometriosis” word out.  My friends from the office haven’t asked me much about the condition yet but I have made it perfectly clear that I’m available for questions.  I expect there will be more questions upon my return to work.  Well, I hope there will be.

Foxy

4 thoughts on “Endometriosis Awareness Month – Raising Awareness

  1. When I was first diagnosed with Endo in 1997, all of my work colleagues said “Endo what?!”. Now, when I tell people that I have Endo, I’m pleasantly surprised that more and more people have heard of it.

    Word is getting out there, thanks to Endosisters like us Foxy!

  2. Hi Tricia
    That’s got to be the best news I’ve heard for a long time. The more we talk about it, the more awareness we create, the more doctors will find it of interest, the more research is done, the sooner we can find a cure and all go home.
    Thank you so much
    Foxy

  3. Foxy,

    I try my hardest not to disclose the fact that I have chronic conditions at work. At my current job, I had to. Now I do get treated differently by some people. But it is unavoidable.

  4. Endochick
    Sadly, my symptoms have gotten worse over the past year and necessitated my disclosure of my health issues at work. I’m still off work but will go back on Monday. I presume that some people will treat me differently. It is unavoidable but I expect those who do treat me differently won’t be worth knowing. At least they will have heard of the illness and they will need to be more tolerant the next time they encounter one of us.
    Foxy

Comments are closed.