A Date with Destiny

I have finally been given a date for my fourth laparoscopy: 2nd March.  I’m a little apprehensive but happy that I can expect an end to my waiting soon.  It’s been nearly four months, one period and more fatigue than I care to admit to.  Exhaustion has been my constant companion these past few months.

On the bright side, I have a decent job, a great family and a wonderful husband.  You could say I’m the luckiest woman alive – if you ignore my health issues of course!

12 thoughts on “A Date with Destiny

  1. Good luck! I’ve got my first Laperoscopy on 28th Feb. I’ve had two laperotomies in the past for endo and I’m hoping that keyhole surgery will be a breeze in comparison! You must be an old hand at this by now – any tips on how to prepare for the operation?

  2. Thanks for your comment, Red Nelly. I have a few odd tips: 1) Make sure you have a gentle laxative for after your arrival home. After my first operation I had a terrible first bowel movement afterwards! Terrible! I nearly passed out from the pain – which for me is a new thing! So now I make sure we have something to make that first movement easier. 2) I haven’t ever had problems with shoulder pain but I’m told it is common. The way to avoid it is to try to move around as much as you can bare. I’m a bit of a wiggle-worm always so haven’t suffered from it. 3) Don’t try to get back to our routine too quickly. Doctors are really bad at predicting how long it can take you to recover. Don’t push yourself and don’t feel bad if you take as long as you need. It is your health after all.
    I hope your surgery goes smoothly. Keep me posted.
    Foxy

  3. Oh dear! If only it were that simple. I’ve had three and cannot imagine life without more… I hope there is a real solution soon.

  4. Thanks for the top tips! Laxatives, check. Wiggling, check. Take it easy, check.
    Just two more questions… what was the pain like right after the op? And were you able to walk up and down stairs ok? (I live up three flights!)

  5. Pain? Well, I made sure to take the painkillers I was given and made sure not to overdo it. I seem to remember sleeping a lot. You won’t be able to sit up directly – roll onto your side in order to sit up. You won’t be able to stand up straight for a few days. Will you have someone with you afterwards?

    As for stairs: Don’t forget that you’ll have holes in your belly so you may find a full three flights tiring. I suggest stocking up on essentials and other goodies before your surgery so that you don’t have to go out for a few days, say a week to be on the safe side.

    I hope it all goes well!

  6. Thanks Foxy, All this is really helpful. I don’t get much advice from the hospital at all. I guess because they don’t know exactly what they’re going to do when they’re inside me, they have no way of predicting how I’ll feel afterwards. But having an idea of what other people have experienced after this op helps settle my nerves a bit 🙂

  7. Are you doing your laparoscopy on NHS? No, I really wasn’t very impressed with the amount of literature I received in preparation… As for not knowing what they’ll find, that’s the problem with Endo – the only way to see what and where it is is via surgery. I hate it with an unbridled passion. If it were a person I would look at it, give it a sniff and then avoid it at all costs. Grrr.

    My lap is on 2nd March so we’ll have to compare notes after the fact. I’ll look forward to hearing from you.

    Foxy

  8. NHS for me too. I’m a little worried about it, I must say. My others were done privately – so nice to have my own room and my husband to keep me company for as long as I/he wanted.

  9. It’s not so bad. I’ve had two operations on the NHS before and I can’t really complain. I quite like being in a ward where I get to meet new people and be nosy about their conditions 🙂

  10. So I really have nothing to worry about? You hear so many stories in the media… I ought to know better. The media generally know nothing and love to scare-monger. LOL Thanks!

Comments are closed.