Goodbye 2011

Goodbye 2011

Like the Dextrous Diva and Layla I’ve had a year of ups and downs.

The Ups

In April I turned 40 and had a great birthday.  Helios and I went to visit some old friends who live inFrance.  For a closet Francophile, it was a wonderful time!  I love being able to speak French, think in French.  I’ve always loved the sound of French – the way it rolls off the tongue, hangs in the air as if perfumed and then comes back at you – lavender, sandlewood and vanilla.

Of course I’m grateful for any opportunity to see our friends.  I attended their wedding more than 15 years ago.  We happened to be at their house us when Helios proposed.  They attended nuptials at a castle in 2008 – the men wore kilts and spent the day quoting Monty Python and the Holy Grail.  It was madly appropriate considering they are American and French.  It’s great to see friends who never let you feel like any time has gone by since you’ve seen them!

In August Apollo came to visit us for the first time since Helios and I got married.  I’m delighted to have had the opportunity to get to know him better.  He’s a lovely kid – but I’m not allowed to call him that.  At 20 I think he’d be mortified to know that every time I see him I want to pinch his little cheek!  If it didn’t cost so much I might suggest Helios and I get a slightly larger place so that his kids could come to visit.  Perhaps that’s something we can consider in the future.  For now, it’s just wonderful to be friends with my stepson.

The Downs

Due to my endometriosis pain, I’ve organised to have my fourth laparoscopy but won’t have it until 2012.  The prolonging of agony is never a happy prospect but it’s to be expected.

In December, I was hit by a car.  While my nightmares have almost totally cleared and my bruising has all but disappeared, I am mostly grateful for the fact that my injuries weren’t severe.  I am still perfectly capable of getting to and from the office and carry on with life in general.  It could have been so much worse!

In August, my father died in the US; I was unable to go to the funeral.  I’ve had more sleepless nights from this than from the car accident.  The only bright side was that, even though Dad was a ward of the state, he did leave me a little money – enough to visit my family in the US again in 2012.

So while I’m delighted to see the back of 2011 (and don’t come back!) I’ve good reason to hope that 2012 will be an even better year.

Peace and pain-free days to you.

Foxy

3 thoughts on “Goodbye 2011

  1. 2011 has been such a weird year, for so many. I’m truly excited for 2012 and hope that your lap brings you some much needed relief. Here’s to a far better 2012 for all of us!

Comments are closed.