Glamour

Thanks to Endometriosis Awareness Campaign for sharing this link.

I’m about to go over old history – you’ve been warned!

How is it that any of us have to wait for years and years for a diagnosis?  I don’t recall when my first symptoms of PCOS appeared but I’d say puberty because I occasionally get skin tags in my underarms and I remember first noticing that when I was shaving.

The symptoms for Endometriosis are easier to pinpoint.  I started my periods when I was 12 and I was in so much pain that I would vomit.  That was 28 years ago.  The doctor at the time said to my mother (who was terrified that I had something serious like appendicitis), “It’s just cramps.  She needs to take painkillers in order to get on top of the pain before she starts vomiting.”  How can any doctor believe that a kid vomiting from pain is normal??

I am still disgusted that some women reading this article in Glamour will accurately identify themselves as someone with PCOS or Endometriosis when doctors cannot.

How can we possibly hope for a cure when doctors are still unable to diagnose us??

Foxy

2 thoughts on “Glamour

  1. I have to say that I’m one of the lucky ones. My GP referred me to Gynae, after I had seen him 3 months in a row, with severe tummy pains just as my period was starting.

    My Gynae decided that a Lap was the best way to find out what was going on inside. In less than a year of first going to my GP, I had a diagnoses of Endometriosis.

    Mind you, that was in 1996/97, and, after various treatments, I’m still in pain…

  2. Hi Tricia,
    Thanks for your comment. It’s always great to hear your thoughts.
    I’m really surprised that you had a diagnosis within a year! That’s very unusual. However, I’m sorry you’re still in pain. In some ways, it’s great to have a diagnosis quickly because you can pinpoint why you’re in pain. Unfortunately once you have a diagnosis, we’re all in the same boat. Endometriosis is no picnic!
    Foxy x

Comments are closed.