Advertise advertise advertise

If you remember correctly, I was born in the US  but came to live in the UK.  I am British now but still sound American.  When I meet someone new, I am regularly asked where I’m from.  When I say London, they look confused and I say “Oh you mean where was I born!”

I’ve been contemplating how to make the general population more aware of endometriosis.  I can’t help but be a little disheartened when I mention endometriosis and I have to start at the beginning – what the symptoms are, what the treatments are, how long it takes for a diagnosis and why.  Don’t get me wrong, I know that the fact that we talk about it helps to inform the general population but we could be doing more.

For instance, I don’t know which Endometriosis charity supports research.  I don’t know where I can best donate money.  I am interested in donating time to the telephone support system in place for Endo UK but am uncertain as to if my expertise would be acceptable.  I don’t have any previous experience and expect that will count against me.

So here I am blogging to my endosisters.  Please forgive me when I say that I’m frustrated.  As grateful as I am that you’re reading my blog again, but I wish there was a way to talk to the general population.  It would be wonderful to meet someone new and not have to go through the whole process of explaining all about endometriosis.  It’s the same feeling I get when I explain again where I was born and how I came to live in the UK.  It’s frustrating to have to re-tell the story again and again.

If only there were a way to obviously advertise endometriosis.  The way I figure it, the more people talking about endometriosis, the more doctors will be interested in endometriosis research.  We would be closer to better pain management and ultimately a cure.  I can dream for a cure, can’t I?

Foxy

2 thoughts on “Advertise advertise advertise

  1. Totally agree with you Foxy. Quite a few years ago some magazines did do articles about Endo, but I don’t think there’s been anything for a while now. Maybe that’s the way to go now. Contact magazines with our story’s.

  2. Hi Tricia
    Thanks for your comment. I can’t help but think that, if we all club together and bombard the magazines again, we may get somewhere. Later this summer I’m doing a sponsored walk for Cancer Research UK. I have my reasons and to my mind, cancer has a lot to answer for. However, in many ways, would be nice if Endometriosis were as well known as Cancer.
    Wishing you pain-free days!
    Foxy

Comments are closed.