The Alchemist Quote – Paulo Coelho

“My heart is afraid that it will have to suffer,” the boy confides to the alchemist one night as they look up at a moonless night.

“Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself,” the alchemist replies. “And that no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dreams, because every second of the search is a second’s encounter with God and with eternity.”

As you know, suffering is a part of my life as much as my next breath.  As much as I hate the term “suffering” there were times when I have suffered with Endometriosis.  Still, I prefer the term “enduring”.  The connotation being that suffering is something that we have no control over – something that controls us.  While enduring is something that I accept and control.  I have nothing to fear from something I can endure.

I consider myself lucky that I am able to manage my pain through running birth control pill packs together.  It’s been over 10 weeks since my last period.  I have a few odd moments but, for the most part, I have been pain free and without bleeding.

I hope you are enduring your misfortunes bravely.

Foxy

2 thoughts on “The Alchemist Quote – Paulo Coelho

  1. Right now I feel that I am still suffering as I have no control over my Endo at the moment. I hope to be able to endure it in a few months though.

  2. Hi Tricia!
    Thanks for your comment. I wish the best that we could hope for was a pain-free life. Unfortunately that’s not an option for us – yet. So instead I have to wish you the ability to control your pain to the point that you endure it. You’ll find something that works for you.
    Foxy x

Comments are closed.