Endometriosis Tea: Guinea Pig

I’ve recently been looking into alternative treatments for my endometriosis.  When I found a recipe for something called Endometriosis Tea, I was curious.  Here was a simple recipe for a tea that I could drink twice daily.  How hard could it be?

Here are the website and recipe:

http://www.endo-resolved.com/herbal.html

Endometriosis Tea 

1 teaspoon each vitex berries, echinacea root, wild yam rhizome and cramp bark

½ teaspoon each horsetail stalks, red raspberry and motherwort

1 quart water

Combine herbs and water in an uncovered pot and bring to a boil. Turn down the heat and let simmer gently for about 5 minutes. Remove from heat, cover and steep for 15 minutes. Strain out herbs. Drink at least 2 cups daily. This formula can also be taken as a tincture or in capsules. 

The endo-resolved website said that the tea will only begin to take effect after a few months.  As this is a long-term solution to a chronic problem, I’ll have to make the concoction a few times before deciding that it’s worth the candle.

The plusses so far are that the herbs are positively cheap in comparison to surgery.   Lucky for me there’s a place on the high street where I was able to find all the ingredients  so restocking will be a breeze.  Fingers crossed I see results!

In the meantime it’s been over 10 weeks since my last period.  I have had a number of  “periody” moments in the past couple of weeks but nothing so painful that I needed to be sent home from work.  It’s as if my body decides that I need to start and then, just as I’m beginning to notice feeling uncomfortable, it goes again.  I will be pressing on with the birth control pills through this week at work (my line manager is on holiday – leaving me to hold the reins) before contemplating giving myself a period.  If past experience is anything to go by, I could do with remaining sharp this week!

Foxy

