Manchester England, England

After an eventful 5 days in France, Helios and I had two days at home before taking another trip, this time up to Manchester.

What a wonderful weekend!  The train wasn’t too busy: we got a seat on the train to London and made good time to Euston to catch our connecting train to Manchester.  We caught the tram from Manchester Piccadilly to the stadium of our favourite English Football team – Manchester United.  OK, I’m sure a lot of you girls have just zoned out but I’ve always been a fan of sports and very much enjoyed the tour, the museum and the view from our hotel room (towards the stadium).

When I initially booked the weekend, the Man U v Chelsea game was scheduled for Saturday.  Unfortunately due to other game commitments, the game was moved to Sunday and we had to find something else to do instead.  Lucky for us, the Imperial War Museum (North) was about 10 minutes’ walk from our hotel.  In case you don’t know, I’m a real history freak so I rubbed my hands together at the prospect of boring Helios for a few hours.  The great things about IWM (North) were – 1) entry is free and 2) there was a slide/photo exhibition which started when all the lights went down.  It was slightly disconcerting: Helios said that he half expected to encounter someone with a gun around the corner!  Then the slide show started over all the walls which included children narrating their experiences of war.  It was a sad but moving experience.  We are very lucky!

Saturday afternoon was spent at the local outlet mall – just a few minutes from IWM (North) and our hotel.  We bought a pair of jeans for me and a sweatshirt for Helios in Gap as everything was half price.  We also bought a couple of waterproof jackets in another shop – also half price.

We had dinner both nights at Frankie & Benny’s – mainly due to the £5 off vouchers Helios downloaded on his mobile.  We had a glass of wine the first evening and we toasted to our birthdays (as the Man U stadium tour was a birthday present to Helios some months ago).

Work so far this week has been a bit surreal.  I feel as though I’ve been away for years rather than just over a week.  I expect it was mainly because we did so much while we were away!

On a personal note, I’m too bloated to be believed at the moment.  I’m contemplating giving myself another period but want to put it off as long as I can just to avoid the usual pain.  Would you rather feel fat or pain?

I’m off to bed.  Good night all!

Foxy

