PCOS Diet

Well, by PCOS I mean Insulin Resistance.  Studies show that up to 30% of women with PCOS have insulin resistance.  I’m one of the lucky few…  There is a lot of speculation that one may cause the other but so far it’s just a correlation connection.

When I don’t follow my diet, I feel almost drunk.  I have a woolly head, it’s as if there’s a cloud behind my eyes.  I’m clumsy.  I’m in a daydream with no way to come back to reality.  I’m not myself.  However, when I do follow my diet I am my normal switched-on self.  I am accurate at work.  I feel like myself.  It’s worth the effort to keep to the diet!

Weekday mornings

  • 2 pieces of low-GI bread toasted with cheese melted on top.
  • 2 hard boiled eggs

Weekday afternoons

  • One ready meal with extra chicken and spinach or
  • One enormous salad (including spinach, chickpeas, olives and cucumber) with one full tin of tuna

Weekday evenings

Meal must revolve around vegetables and meat.  I regularly have:

  • Pizza but not eat most of the crust.  Helios likes to eat the bones.
  • Chicken stroganoff made in the slow cooker with brown rice or brown pasta and peas.
  • Fish and chips with peas – heavy on the fish.
  • Sausage and lentil stew made in the slow cooker.  This is a great recipe with chicken broth, tomatoes, onion and carrots as well as sausage and lentils.  I usually throw some thyme in for extra flavour.
  • Burgers with salad

 

You get the idea.  When I’m very strict, I aim to eat only 20 grams of carbohydrate per meal per day.  I’m not always that strict.  Sometimes I allow myself some fruit and yoghurt after the evening meal.

At the weekend I allow myself a bit more variety:

Weekend mornings:

  • Two pieces of low GI bread toasted with cheese melted on top with Mexican beans and an egg.  Sometimes I add olives or jalapeno peppers as well.  It may sound disgusting (and Helios thinks it looks and smells like cat/dog food) but I’m not allowed cereal nor anything fruity.  I’ve discovered that the best way for me to control my symptoms starts with breakfast!

Weekend afternoons:

  • Two pieces of low GI bread toasted with tuna or chicken or turkey and tomato and spinach.  I am allowed mayonnaise and I have been known to use lashings of it in my sandwiches shaped like doorstops!

Weekend evenings:

  • Similar to any other evening.  I don’t mind simple, straightforward meals during the day but I do feel the need for variety in the evenings.  I like cooking and enjoy taking the time to make a full English roast or chicken parmesan.  Delicious!

Foxy

 

 

2 thoughts on “PCOS Diet

  1. Sounds very healthy, really! I should try this and maybe lose some weight. Will you share some of the slow cooker recipes please? I’ve not heard of low GI bread. What’s it made of?

  2. Hi Linda

    Low GI bread is made with soya flour and contains lots of seeds. You’ll know you’ve got a good loaf when a slice contains between 12 – 15 grams of carbohydrate.

    As for recipes, I’m probably not the best person to ask. I find recipes that I like the sound of online and then try them at home – but with British quantities. You may like the chicken stroganoff: that’s 3 or 4 chicken breasts with 2 large onions (or equivalent) and two cans of cream of mushroom soup. Then, about 30 minutes before serving, add a small container of sour cream. Plop the lid back on and make the pasta. By the time the pasta is done, the chicken stroganoff is nearly ready. I love how the chicken shreds in this sauce! Hope that helps.
    Foxy

Comments are closed.