A week’s holiday

I had a week off with Helios.  We didn’t have anything in particular planned and I enjoyed a relaxing time.  Having said that, two things of note happened: 1) I had lunch with an old friend who I hadn’t seen for a number of years.  Helios stayed at home and watched a scary movie while I went to town and ran a couple of errands and saw E.  It had been so long since I saw her that I brought my wedding photos.  She got the whole story about me and Ramman and Helios and how I’ve got great step-kids.  While it was nice to catch up, I found it slightly awkward.  Maybe she and I don’t have enough in common anymore – she’s got a couple of kids and never left the first law firm she joined and she’s now an Associate there.  Don’t get me wrong, it was nice to see her, I just found it odd talking to her.  Anyway, the thing that she said that made me sit up and take note was when I called Helios “The Love of my Life.”  Not even half a second went by when she said “How did you know?” in an eager, almost machine-gun manner.  I remember even before she got married to her current husband that she didn’t seem quite convinced that she should spend the rest of her life with him, so I wasn’t entirely surprised that she’s asked the question…

I told her that I knew it was Helios when we were talking about what we wanted from life and we were finishing each other’s sentences.  But, it was more than that.  More than what I could explain in a lunchtime.  There wasn’t one incident that made me think “WOW!  I’ve got to get with this one!”  It was more of a feeling that grew over time.  Oh sure, I’d had a crush on Helios since the first time I heard his voice in 2003, but we became friends first (even though, for me, there was always more than a friendly attraction).  In becoming friends I knew that Helios was romantic, funny and passionate – by passionate, I mean he’s a Scorpio and has been known to shout at the squirrels in the garden – not the passion you’re thinking!  When we became friends, we learned to be honest with one another and to respect each other.  I cannot pinpoint the time I first thought “I want to marry this guy and spend the rest of my life with him.”  I can say, when we were talking about the future and goals, that I felt relaxed and happy when we were completing each other’s sentences.  We talked about what was important for the both of us – the sorts of things we want to do together, what sort of property we wanted, what sort of holidays we wanted, what sort of food we like to cook (and for me, what my diet would allow), and what physical problems we have and the things we need in order to cope.  If I’d start off the conversation, he’d finish it with exactly what I was thinking and if he’d start off the conversation, I’d finish off his thought.  It is still so relaxing to live with someone when I don’t have to explain myself to him.  Because he respects me, we don’t argue.  A different friend of mine explained the situation perfectly – married life, when you’re happy, should be mostly on a line of contentment.  Sure you have ups and downs, but for the most part your average feeling should be contentment.  I have that now and that’s how I know I’ve got the love of my life.

Enough of my crowing.  The other thing that happened this week has to do with my obtaining my British Passport.  In this country, not only do I have to produce the usual documentation to prove my identity, I also had to find out some personal information about my parents and grandparents and I had to get a professional (lawyer, doctor or accountant) that I’ve known for at least two years to countersign the documents.  Well, I sent all that off.  At this point the waiting normally starts.  You wait for the documents to come back to you and you wait for an invitation to identity interview.  Can you believe that?  I have to attend an identity interview!  It’s just another layer of red-tape from Tony Blair’s Red-Tape Brigade.  Well, I got the letter and attended the interview – all much more quickly than I expected, to be fair.  In years gone by, I would worry and study for exams but I figured, since this test was all about yours truly, I should have nothing to worry about.  I’m glad I didn’t waste the energy worrying.  The paperwork said to allow 30 minutes for the test, but I was only there for about 5 minutes.  I was asked my full name, the full names of my parents, the full name of my husband, all their dates of birth, my date of birth, where I lived and to confirm my signature electronically.  I made sure that I sounded relaxed and made the chat conversational.  I didn’t want her to take any hostility about the test on my part to effect her decision that I am who I say I am.  Supposedly it’s all about identity and identity theft but, while I was assured that all the details supplied to the passport office would be destroyed, I reckon that there are more chances for a government worker to “lose” all my information than there are for me losing my identity.  It was a total waste of time, as far as I’m concerned.  The good news is that I should expect my British passport within the next couple of weeks and I’ll feel more able to travel to visit Europe.  Maybe we’ll go to see our friends in France.  Do you fancy that Helios?

Foxy

One thought on “A week’s holiday

  1. Finding love is the best thing you can find, so I’m happy you found your heart. My heart is full of love for my two beautiful daughters, but I did have a soul mate until cancer took him, so I know that feeling.

    Passport: Don’t you just love it when things work out? I’m in the middle of wondering if things will ever work out for me. I’m on the edge and though I have hope, because who can live without hope? I’m beginning to believe I’m screwed over my finances. I’m praying and keep saying it’ll be ok, but I’m hating how I’m living right now. So, I’m taking hope from your long passport journey. Let me know when you get it.

Comments are closed.