New Job, My Step-Daughter and the never-ending health issues

The new job is going well.  The people there are very nice indeed and I am completely capable with the work.  My only problem so far has been the snow hampering my travel to and from the office.  It might not sound like a significant problem but on my first week there I missed out an entire day of work because I physically couldn’t get to the office.  My guilt was unbelievable.  I actually sat on the couch in full garb – coat, scarf, gloves, etc. for quite some time wondering if I should brave another trip out to the train station.  Honestly, the walk I had to the train station that morning, coupled with the chaos of no one knowing when the next train would arrive (and none being forthcoming) really tired me out.  I was glad to get home for a nap but couldn’t relax enough because I was fretting that I might get fired!

They all seem to have a decent sense of humour and, while the snow has been a terrible burden, at least we’re all in the same boat.  I’m not expecting to get fired.

I still hear from the gang at the Court Service.  I got a message begging me to come back from a friend who said that her desk was “covered” in the stuff I used to do.  I miss the lively atmosphere and the people and the fact that the days used to go by so quickly – but I’m still being told that the work here will pick up quickly.  I hope so!

In other news, our chats with Maia are just wonderful.  She seems very open and has a great sense of humour.  I’m really enjoying getting to know her.  Conversely, I am trying not to reveal too much of myself just yet as I don’t want her to think I’m preaching at her or something – “Well, in my day, I used to do this or that…”  No.  At the moment I’m asking her questions about her life and I think she’s enjoying answering.  She is only 16, has a boyfriend (who I have managed to frighten, I’m told) and will probably go into child care after finishing school.  The first few days we chatted with her everyday but we didn’t last night.  I know she has other obligations in her life, so I’m grateful for the time that she does make for us.  I’m hoping to organise a trip to her home town in March (which is near to her birthday) so that we can finally meet.  We’re already talking about meeting in terms of “when” and not “if” anymore – so planning a trip would give us both something nice to look forward to.

Finally, and despite horrible weather conditions, my period hasn’t been too bad again this month. Oh sure, I’m taking Mefenamic Acid and paracetamol but the tablets totally kill the pain and I’m easily able to cope with everything else that us women have to do everyday.  Do you think I’ll need another operation to clear me out again?  I expect being ever being totally clear of endometriosis is just wishful thinking, but I can dream!

Foxy

3 thoughts on “New Job, My Step-Daughter and the never-ending health issues

  1. A new job is always a big change… honestly, I think I avoid leaving my current workplace not because other places don’t have more to offer, but always the fear of going into a totally different environment (mind you, I’m also happy with my existing workplace though!) You step-daughter being 16 and the fact you two are connecting well is definitely worthwhile of cheers. It is freezing here as well, although it doesn’t sound like it is as bad. We’ve had small waves of snow that has hampered traffic but not enough to cause transportation issues. To move into a new working environment that has welcoming workers, especially those with a sense of humour is a blessing, I hope you enjoy the new place you work at! Like always, connecting with someone is the greatest when it is quality, not through quantity. The fact you can understand her obligations in life and see that makes you a very good step-mom! I have not read through the entire history of your blog, but I’m glad to here the drugs you are taking are helping with your pain… being a male, I cannot comprehend the pain that girls go through on a regular basis. I hope at some point your body will recover and you won’t have to be on-the-meds forever since I’m sure they have plenty of side effects. Looks like menstruation isn’t on your side (as if it’s ever for anyone). Hope to hear some cheery news from you soon, toodles!

  2. Prexus,

    Thanks ever so much for your comment and kind words. If you’re happy with your current workplace then I wouldn’t suggest looking for another job. There are far too many places out there that aren’t nearly as good! I try to see the positive in everything and it’s nice not to have to look too hard for it at the moment!!

    Thanks as well for your vote of confidence with my new Step-Daughter. Family is very important to me (as with most people). I’m keen to let her dictate how close she wants to get to me and Helios – I don’t want her to feel guilty or disloyal to her mother. I hope it’s a good approach.

    Finally, there have been times where I wished I’d been born a boy just so I would be completely ignorant of the period pain. Most women don’t have it as bad as I do. I suffer from Endometriosis which feels a bit like a leg-cramp but in my back where I can’t stretch it out. This pain can last for days. Luckily (and with surgery) the pain hasn’t been nearly as bad recently. Since Endometriosis is a chronic condition there is no cure and I expect to be taking pain medication for the rest of my life – my only consolation is that the pain only lasts for a few days a month (at the moment) so I’m hoping the stretches without pain medication make up for the time that I’m dosed up to the eyeballs!

    Thanks again for your cheery comment! No doubt I’ll have more good news soon.

    Foxy

  3. Hi Again,

    Thanks for your advice, I certainly thing I’m going to stay put. The world has millions of workplaces available, but it’s all about being comfortable while making a decent living that counts. Although being young all my friends are looking towards the big $ figures, but due to my.. hrm.. early maturity, lol – I’ve realized that being successful in life is not about who amasses the most wealth, after all, when you leave you ain’t taking that money with you. My life is full of huge highs and pit fall downs… so I’ve just learned to let things kinda flow… especially things that I have little control over. However, it’s hard not to let certain things get you down eh, no matter how hard you try to twist it into a positive way… maybe you just have a better grasp on that then I do 😛

    Regarding the understand of your step-daughter, you are the first step-mother I’ve heard say such words or to express such diligence in handling the matter… it is absolutely amazing! I’m sure that it is possible for a person to be close to many individuals without feelings of guilt.. of course I’m not sure of the details and need not be, but to see that you’re willing to step back and analyze the situation makes me jealous. I think at a sensitive time like this, all a teenager really needs is the loving guidance and support – for her to always know you’re there, regardless of the situation. Teenage years are tough, I only escaped them a few years ago. Although I have been with both of my biological parents and wouldn’t know the feeling of having step-parent(s), while teenagers tend to draw the line on how much they want to rely on their parents (because it is “uncool”), in the back of their minds and in their heart, they want to know there’s always a safety net behind them.

    I apologize for not being aware of your endometriosis issues (have not read history of your blog).. I sheepishly had to research on what that is and it makes me feel embarrassed on not knowing what the condition is since I’ve always been interested in menstruation. Guess I’ve learned something today! Reading about it made me freeze and realize that you’re an amazingly brave woman. I guess in cases like these, any time women you know who complain about cramps and stuff you get to tell them to shut up 😛 Since that’s probably nothing compared to what you go through. Given that you had meds that help control the pain, then I guess that’s worth smiling upon. Although it is only a possibility, I hope one day menopause will bring you a form of permanent relief. Sure, guys don’t get to know what period pain feels like – but think about all the opportunity women get as a result of having periods.. like fancy feminine hygiene products, being able to blame PMS (hehe), having a significant other pamper her during her period, being able to bear a child and the maternal connection that a mother has 9 months before the father gets to even hold the child. See, now there’s looking on the positive side for ya! =]

    Cheers!

Comments are closed.