New Year – New Start

Christmas was just lovely with Helios.  We both had 24th off work to collect the turkey – Helios works with a gal whose father owns an organic turkey farm.  The Christmas meal here consists of roasted turkey with mashed swede (known in the US as rudabega), roasted potatoes and parsnips, boiled carrots, brussel sprouts, broccoli, and cauliflower.  You can make a wonderful turkey curry with the leftovers but I always make soup instead.

Other than eat, we didn’t do much.  Our neighbours have asked us to look after their flat while they go on a trip to see family to South Africa.  We’ve taken advantage and have been watching some of the football on their TV, since they have a satellite and we don’t!  We’ve taken advantage and made sure that their place is well looked after!

My last day at the Court Service has finally been and gone.  I have mixed feelings about the place: on the one hand, I’m much more my old self after six months there – I’m confident in my work and I feel appreciated.  I will really miss everyone there.  On the other hand, I could do with the extra money and benefits that a permanent job can give.

On a completely other hand, why can’t I find something that pays just a little more?  I was earning £5k more before I was made redundant last year.  I know I should be grateful for the job at all and I needed to take something of a pay cut considering I’m in a secretary role instead of a PA role.  I suppose I’ll never really be happy at work – and in many ways I do blame my endometriosis and PCOS.  Most days I do well and I can focus but there are just too many days when I’m unable to concentrate.  Will I ever reach my full potential?

Maybe after a few more months I’ll feel better about the new job.  I’m trying not to think that I’m just settling for something that I know I can do.  I’m vacillating, I know.  I hope I’m just a little nervous about the new job.  It’s really nice that at least I have miles more confidence than I used to.

New Years has been uneventful – which is nice.  We did a little shopping and spent lots of time together.  Perfect.

Foxy

3 thoughts on “New Year – New Start

  1. I didn’t have a traditional Christmas mean this year. I was happy not to have leftovers and more variety.

    I’m happy you are more confident about yourself and are moving on to something permanent. I hope it turns out to be a great place to work and you gain even more confidence and appreciation from them. Jobs are hard to come by, and office work is historically low paying, so don’t blame yourself on that. I hope your health problems minimize and minimize until you are well.

    May all our dreams come true in 2010. Best of luck.

  2. Jessica,

    Thanks for your New Year wishes. I totally agree about confidence being a good thing. It’s vital in most professions!

    Happy New Year to you too!
    Foxy

Comments are closed.