Snow

Wednesday of this week I was sitting in my office and everyone else was speculating about snow.  Snow is only rarely seen in this part of the country so when there are weather warnings everyone likes to guess about the length of time it will snow and if it will lay.  Of course, in my youth, the question wasn’t if the snow would stay, it was more about the amount of accumulation.  I just kept my head down and watched all the fuss happening around me.  Luckily it did snow but not long enough for any actual accumulation.

Thursday morning’s walk to the station was treacherous indeed!  There was a thick frost and walking down the hill included a lot of sliding.  Luckily there was no base-over-apex action!  That evening coming home was just fine because, even though it was dark, the frost wasn’t so thick that I was sliding up the hill.

At work the management reminded everyone of the snow procedures and there was more speculation about blizzards and snow days off.

It snowed overnight Thursday.  We received the princely accumulation of one whole inch.  Nevertheless, I checked the web-site to see if the trains were running.  They were so I got ready and walked to the station, as usual.  The snow wasn’t too bad.  I got lots of traction in the fresh powder.  There is a wonderful silence that the snow brings to the land.  I think, technically, it must absorb a bit of sound, or is it that everyone wakes up and thinks “Oh no!  I’m not going out in that!” and they roll over in bed to get another few minutes of sleep.  Whatever the reason I enjoyed the walk.  I even recognised squirrel tracks that hopped away from a nearby tree.

It wasn’t such a nice morning if you travel by car.  As always, the “smaller” roads didn’t get gritted and the cars were all over the place.  The roads seemed to be better in the city when I got to work, but I was glad that morning not to have to drive anywhere.  Accidents waiting to happen…

Friday evening was much more treacherous for the walkers.  Even before I got to the hill I grabbed hold of plants, walls, cars and anything else that helped keep me steady.  The major difference between the UK and the US is in the US, if the sidewalks are covered with ice and snow, you simply step to the left and walk on the grass.  You’re always bound to get a little better traction there.  In the UK, land is so precious that there really isn’t much of a path to speak of, and where there is pavement, it’s so close to the road that I sometimes frighten myself with the thought of a car mounting the pavement and hitting me with a SPLAT.  The pavement also has quite a camber so trying to keep your footing is difficult when it’s icy.  In the end I walked in the road until I saw cars coming, then I’d step onto the pavement and wait for them to pass.

Normally I get home before Helios but Friday night, as I rounded the corner to our road, I saw him coming towards me.  I recognised him immediately with his head-torch and his gait.  He’d managed to climb his part of the hill, saw I wasn’t home, turned a few lights on and then came back out for me.  I just love it that he cares enough about my welfare that he goes out of his way for me.  Sure, you might think anyone would/should do that, but I’m still not entirely used to it.

On Saturday and it was -2°C so the garden still has a light dusting of white.  Perfect for the winter, and it means that I’m finally starting to feel a little Christmas-y.

Foxy

One thought on “Snow

  1. What lovely imagery. I can see it all. Snow is much nicer when you don’t have to go out in it. I do think it provides some insulation to sounds. It’s a little like we are wrapped in white cotton until shovels make lines and plows make bigger lines in it. I love to see the footprints from nature too. You are lucky Helios cares. Merry Christmas!

Comments are closed.