Fireworks and Birthday Weekend

The fireworks turned out to be a bridge too far for my 2 year old neighbour.  Luckily she fell asleep before we were due to go.  After we walked down the hill and stood in a field waiting for the bonfire to catch light, I thought the evening was too cold and boring for such a young English girl.

We had a good time though.  The event started at 7:00 p.m. at the bottom of the High Street in a torchlight procession (and in this instance I mean a fire-lit torch).  Helios and I gave this a miss and headed straight for the field.  We had the pleasure of waiting for the procession to arrive and listening to some pedantic old fool saying to everyone that we needed to take note of where we could get drinks and where the First Aid station.

Finally the bonfire was lit and my front was burning hot while my bottom was ice-cold.  We stood in the field for an inordinate amount of time while listening to children running just a little too far away from their parents, teenagers on the telephone and annoying 60 year olds congratulating people with birthdays and anniversaries today on the PA system.

But you go to these things to see the fireworks.  You know, when I was young the fireworks shows were much much more Spartan than they are these days.  In the old days, we got one bang and “OOOooo” “AHHhhhh”.  These days it’s 20 minutes of overwhelming glittering sequins, floral colours, and breathtaking – chest rattling booms.  It was just great!  I even forgot how cold my feet were!

Don’t worry Mom, the walk home warmed me sufficiently.  I didn’t even need a hot water bottle for my feet that evening.

The best thing about the weekend has been Helios’ birthday.  I dished out his cards and presents.  We watched our football game at the neighbour’s flat (they kindly left their door open for the occasion)  but our team lost.  :o(

Helios, I hope that 40 doesn’t seem so awful.  It’s just a number.  Besides, you’re gonna have a lot of birthdays with me.  There isn’t anything we can do about getting old, but at least we can enjoy the time together!  Happy Birthday, my Sun God!

Foxy

One thought on “Fireworks and Birthday Weekend

Comments are closed.