Remember Remember 5th of November

Remember remember the fifth of November
Gunpowder, treason and plot.
I see no reason why gunpowder, treason
Should ever be forgot…

 

It slightly tickles me that the British celebrate the foiling of what we now call a terrorist attack.  While many other countries have a national holiday rooted in the overthrow of an oppressive government, Brits know that treason will NOT be tolerated.

 

These days the national holiday is known as Bonfire Night and is celebrated by creating and burning a very large pile of wood and also burning a Guy Fawkes in effigy followed by fireworks.  This year Helios and I are going to the local Bonfire Night with our neighbours on Saturday 7th November.  We don’t get days off work on 5th for the occasion – but then the occasion has been going on since the attempt to blow up the Parliament building in 1605.  As a Brit, I can now say that we’re slightly ahead of you there!  I expect the Founding Fathers in the US originally celebrated Bonfire Night before they decided not to pay their taxes and throw some tea into a certain harbour!

 

The first few years I found fireworks in the autumn (and in the cold) very strange indeed but, as with many other things, I’ve grown accustomed to it in the end.  I have a pair of Wellington Boots (mine have flowers on), I wear lots of layers and make sure I have a torch (Flashlight) to help on the walk there and back.  Also, there’s usually hot drinks available from local merchants.

 

I’m very much looking forward to it again this year.

 

Foxy

4 thoughts on “Remember Remember 5th of November

  1. Cool! I didn’t know bonfire night had anything to do with the US. Flowers on your wellies? Uhhh. I’m speechless.

  2. as per usual foxy made the night special and fun fo me
    what more can a man want Fire explosions and a beautiful woman

  3. Well, as far as Bonfire Night goes, I don’t think it does have anything to do with the US, except that a lot of what we consider to be the first Americans were British before they were British.

    Flowers on wellies are terribly stylish and practical! OK, it probably is a little juvenile but I like it.

    Thanks for your comment!
    Foxy

Comments are closed.