Baking and other news

Helios and I both like working in the kitchen.  We make cookies (or biscuits depending on what side of the Atlantic you’re on), brownies and crumbles.

So this afternoon when I was doing the dishes, Helios grabbed one of our cookie sheets and started to wave it while singing “Tie me Kangaroo down”.  He’s no Rolf Harris, but his beard is nicer than Rolf’s!

We donated an apple crumble (and of course Helios’ expertise) to the neighbours.  They have a little girl who is almost two and she’s the cutest little thing you’ve seen.  Her parents are both teachers and Helios gave them a friendly crumble twice already.  They polished off the first one within a day, so Helios wanted to treat them again.  He likes positive reinforcement for his cooking and a new audience is always welcome.

Staycation is over for me on Monday and it’s back to the grind.  I’ve bought another season ticket for my train journeys to and from work.  All my office clothing is clean.  Helios has offered to do the ironing tomorrow (isn’t he great?) so I think I’m ready for the final sprint towards Christmas.

I’ve been working the figures and I’m still not entirely sure I can afford to work where I’m at.  The good news is that I’ve managed to bring the mortgage payment down a bit and I found a good deal on home insurance while on Staycation.  Of course, I’m also tightening the belt at home – I always take my lunch with me these days, for example.  I will admit that I find it crazy that I can work 40 hours a week and not quite afford to live a little.  I’m sure an awful lot of people are in my boat at the moment, eh?  Still, I can’t really complain.  I’m healthy (except for my incessant cough) and happy.  I have a wonderful family and great friends.  Things could be worse!

Foxy

2 thoughts on “Baking and other news

  1. I’m having a staycation Thanksgiving week. I was off a week the end of August/beginning September, but that was for oral surgery and no fun at all. Now I want a week I can enjoy. I plan on trying new recipes and enjoying family and friends. Hopefully the weather will coooperate and I can take some luxurious walks too. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your time off with each other. There’s a lot to be said for that.

  2. Linda,
    Thanks for your comment. I hope you enjoy your Staycation – certainly more than me! Cough cough cough!

    I hope the oral surgery was successful and all went smoothly? Surgery isn’t pleasant! I hope you’re ok and happy with the results.

    Love, Foxy

Comments are closed.