Laughter is the best medicine…

Helios and I went out to a silent film festival at the weekend.  I just love Charlie Chaplin and I saw a short film of his that I’d not seen before.  I’d never seen Buster Keaton before and I got to see “Seven Chances” which was very funny indeed! 

 

I needed the laugh.  I had two interviews last week but no offers so far.  I’m starting to lose hope for those simply because if they really wanted me, I’m sure I would have heard from them by now.  The first one isn’t a great loss – it was 30 minutes drive away.  The second I quite fancied.  It was a small branch of a larger company so I’d have got the financial benefits of working for a large company with the benefits of working for a small organisation – including flexible hours and independent working. 

 

I think the worst thing about these interviews is that I keep going over what I said and I keep amending it – wishing I’d said this or that.  I keep thinking “Why didn’t I act like this instead of that?”  It’s very hard to know what an employer is really after and tailor your answers accordingly.  But I have to remain philosophical – it wasn’t meant to be.

 

I heard from my agencies.  I didn’t get either job.  The search continues.  I have another interview organised for the week after next so I’m hoping that will be a little more successful. 

 

In the meantime I’m struggling to stay positive.  Some days are easier than others.  I can’t help but wonder if I need a little more prozac?  I’m so tired of feeling unhappy.

 

So, I needed the laugh.

 

Helios and I are going to see his folks this weekend.  I’m looking forward to it for a number of reasons – mainly because I can do with the change of scenery.  His folks are just great.  They always say how happy they are that Helios has found someone he’s so happy with.  They always make me feel welcome. 

 

Foxy

3 thoughts on “Laughter is the best medicine…

  1. Have fun with your inlaws. I’m glad you are looking forward to it, and that you all get along so well! 🙂

  2. Good!
    Oh – and the rules for that award I gave you say I have to leave you a comment letting you know I awarded you – apparently instant messenger (or twitter in the case of letting Jeanne know) isn’t enough – so… you have an award waiting for you at my blog!

Comments are closed.