Project work

 

I finally had my period and managed to go to work at the same time.  This is only the second one since my laparoscopy in November.  I’ve been running pill packs together and praying that the pain isn’t too bad.

 

Well, I’ve managed it.  The first couple of days were a little tricky but I can’t complain.  It had been so long since I had had a period that I didn’t have any necessities in the house!  I bought a package of pads first thing Monday morning and carried it around with me all week.  At least my period didn’t leave me feeling dizzy, light-headed and drowsy. 

 

I woke up last Thursday with severe stomach cramps.  I had serious diarrhoea and then fell asleep at 11:00 in the morning.  As I was drifting off I thought “I’ll have an hour or two and then do a little light housework.”  Well, I woke up at 4!  I was surprised but so drowsy that I didn’t bother with the light housework – instead I threw some chicken breasts in the oven and waited for Helios to get home.  Strangely enough I went to bed slightly early that evening and I slept through the night.  I must have needed the rest!

 

I went to work on Friday though.  I thought that it would be a relatively easy day.  Boy was I wrong!  I arrived at work at roughly 8:30 and I didn’t leave the office until 7.

 

This week has already been completely bonkers.  We had a 90,000 word translation to do in less than five days.  We had to split it up between over 20 translators in order to get the job done on time!  You cannot imagine what it’s been like to try and keep everything in mind and everything up to date!  On top of this, I’ve had my hands full with the rest of my job – smaller projects that still need to be put through the process.  Its one MANIC week already!

 

I really need to be on top of my work.  I coordinate translation projects and I am expected to know where every scrap of work is at any given time.  I have to be on my toes, fill in all the plans/procedures and, as much as I like it (I’m very good at organisation and every project that is completed makes me feel successful.  I like feeling successful!) I do find it tiring sometimes. 

 

So now you know why I was terrified of getting my period – me being slightly off can cause confusion.  Confusion is the worst thing when

everyone expects me to be organised and quick with the answers! 

 

Foxy

