Strange Translations

There is a village in France called “Mon Cul” which translated means (forgive my French) “My @ss”.

 

I just love learning about other cultures and I laughed so hard I nearly fell of the chair when my friend was telling me about this.  She said that there was a competition to help the Tourist Board come up with a catchy slogan to help entice people to Mon Cul. 

 

I will now pause while you ponder a few of your own ideas…  What would make you want to go to Mon Cul?

 

They wound up on the slogan “Discover the contours of Mon Cul” which is naughty enough to get a laugh but sensible enough to be enticing. 

 

My French friend also told me about a town they drive through to get to her parents’ house called “Fursac”.  I can’t think of any catchy slogans for that one.  “Sporren” is the only clean thing I can think to say about that.

 

Talking to her got me thinking about England…

 

For example in England there’s a couple of villages – one called “Upper Slaughter” and the other called “Lower Slaughter”.  Was “Jack the Ripper” inspired there?  More to the point: would you want to GO there?  I can just imagine telling my Mom – yes I had a lovely time in the Cotswolds on holiday.  I found a lovely B&B in Lower Slaughter and witnessed several murders before the end of a restful weekend…

 

What is the best way to pronounce “Ashby de la Zouche”?

 

What possessed people to name their town “Dorking” or worse “Cocking”!  Is there some sort of historic significance to it?

 

Don’t get me wrong, I like this country.  Strangely enough, I also like the humour in the place names here.  I don’t know why they put themselves through it, but I like the humour in it!

 

Foxy

8 thoughts on “Strange Translations

  1. Hmmmmmm. Deepcut puts me off as well, and Donkey Town doesn’t exactly bring heavenly visions to mind. Names are odd, aren’t they?

  2. Foxy,

    Two things:

    1) You are wickedly funny!

    2) Yes, I’m plugging my endometriosis sisters as we head into Endometriosis Awareness Month!

    You are going to stop by my blog and watch my video, aren’t you?? 🙂

    I haven’t seen your name in the comments… and this vlog/blog post has gotten more comments than any other post I’ve ever done.

    Besides, the blog post links to an amazing article about chronic illness/women working while ill… I know you’ll like it. It’s a great article that was emailed to be by a PR rep who saw my blog!

    Come see what the fuss is about.

    Keep up that sense of humor. With chronic illness, we need to keep it!

    Jeanne

  3. What a wonderful compliment! Many thanks.

    I am about to tag your blog in my next article. Working while ill is a very important issue for all of us at the moment – bearing in mind that employers are laying people off and expecting others to cover the same amount of work… I’ll be discussing this too at some point soon.

    I must try and get some sleep tonight – which means turning off the computer early, unfortunately. I hope you understand!
    Foxy

  4. Foxy,

    It was nice to hear from you today on my blog! That media story is getting updated constantly… So be sure to check back.

    🙂

    That is a very good point… Layoffs only exacerbate the problems tackled by the More article I vlogged about on 2/16. Good point. I look forward to your post on this topic.

    I’m glad you’re getting the rest you need. I need to take a cue from you on that. 🙂

    Be sure to comment directly on Donna’s blog (see my 2/23 post for how to contact Donna).

    My hope is that readers here will check out the unfolding story of our pursuit for proper endometriosis coverage by the media!

    Foxy, thanks for your support!!

    Oh… and there’s an endo awareness petition too:

    http://www.gopetition.com/online/22963.html

    Thank you!!

    Jeanne

Comments are closed.