New Job

Wow!  What a week! 

 

I had an extra long weekend before I started my new job – which was great for me to get more than caught up on the usual chores before I ran out of time…  The laundry is clean.  The fridge/freezer has been fixed and now seems to be an appropriate cold throughout. 

 

The job is just great.  It’s a small translation agency.  We get work in and forward it to translators.  We receive it back from translators and quality check it before we return it to the client.  Simple.  It does, however, require a lot of organisation and chasing and I think I can cope with that. 

 

But how does this role differ from the other jobs I’ve had?  Well, firstly the team is painfully small.  The company employs about 10 – 12 people in total – so we all have to get along.  We all have office chores to complete – we each take turns emptying the dishwasher or the bins and making rounds of tea.  This makes me feel like I’m part of the team rather than making me think that “I don’t get paid enough to do this sort of nonsense”.  It’s great when we all muck in and I feel that I have a lot to learn from everyone there.

 

Also, the owner of the company seems genuinely interested in her staff:  we have already had an interesting heart to heart about children.  She tends to chase us out of the office just after closing time.  She’s a real character with lots of charisma.  I find her easy to follow and her passion with the business is infectious.  She is slightly bonkers as well – which I think means that she’s fun.  We’re going to have our Christmas party in London before the end of February because they haven’t gotten around to having a Christmas party in 2008.  Of course, this means that I’m going to suggest and look into Christmas party venues and activities in September this year to ensure that we get something decent in December!

 

Thirdly, I think it’s an intelligent industry – I say this because I feel I have a lot to learn from everyone involved – I’m not just selling, selling, selling.  I have to learn to communicate with and manage people from different cultures to provide a service.  I’m getting a lot of training by watching her and another Account Manager.  I would say that that’s all I’ve done this week but in fact I was given a short project to finish off and I took charge of another (painfully small) project that I have already seen through to completion.  This has given me more confidence than I’ve had in a long time and I’m looking forward to next week already.

 

Have I finally landed on my feet?  Time will tell…  In the meantime I wish all of you a Happy Christmas. 

 

Foxy

3 thoughts on “New Job

Comments are closed.