Full Stop

Full Stop is what the English call that period at the end of a sentence.  A friend of mine once asked me if there was ever any sniggering in an English class in the US when you’d talk about “periods” and I had to say no.  Double entendres don’t always go down well over there.

 

So I have finally started my period after several weeks of keeping it at bay and running pill packs together.  It’s not as bad as I’d feared.  I’m managing the pain with my mefenamic acid and a little extra painkiller at night.  It’s not as heavy as I had imagined it would be either which is good. 

 

I am still finding it hard to sleep at night but I think that’s because the hormones are keeping me HOT HOT HOT!  I kick the covers off and then wake up cold in the middle of the night.  I can’t seem to get to a comfortable temperature and stay there.  I’m sure I’m not the only one that suffers with that though, eh?

 

I had a couple of days of spotting which was unexpected.  I half expected everything to arrive at once at full force for the whole time but so far it seems like a “normal” period.  Or should I say, the most normal that I’ve had? 

 

Now all I have to do is go to work next week and hope that things work out OK.  At least I won’t be worried about my usual issues within the first month or two! 

 

Can I just say that my jaw really hurts too?  It’s like I’m clenching all the time and my face is worn out with the strain.  This has been going on for a few weeks now so I don’t think it’s related to my period, I suspect that it’s a product of being out of work and worrying about life in general…  I’m a bit of a worrier.  It’s in my nature.  I don’t like it but saying “Stop that!” and actually stopping are two different things.  Perhaps I’ll feel better once I’m at work again…

 

Keep everything crossed.

 

Foxy

5 thoughts on “Full Stop

  1. Foxy,

    I used to have regular conference calls with co-workers in England (this was at my old job). I hadn’t heard the phrase “full stop” since then. 🙂 This post just reminded me!

    I now recall all of those phone calls that ended with the team in England saying, “cheers” when the conference calls were through.

    I’m glad your period is better than you expected. Body temperature regulation issues are a big problem for me too. Freezing or roasting at all times but never just-right, I’m afraid. I’m not taking anything hormonal at all now. I’m either freezing from Reynaud’s Disease or HOT HOT HOT (peri-menopause at 40?)… I am never “just right” for temp. I think my thyroid is a little goofy too.

    Good luck with work!

    I have TMJ and also bruxism (grinding my teeth at night). Stress is huge for triggering these types of symptoms. I’m not sure what it is for the jaw pain in your case – but biteguards help some people who grind their teeth. (Your dentist can eventually tell if you’re grinding your teeth just by looking at them).

    Crossing my fingers for you…

    Take care,

    Jeanne

  2. I’m glad you’re not experiencing much pain, that’s so exciting! I just wanted to post to say hello, and thank you for all of the wonderful posts you write 🙂 I tagged you on my blog!

    Good luck with your job, I’m excited to hear about it!
    Amy

  3. Hi Foxy!

    Come visit me for February’s Blog Love Comment Month. I’d love to hear your comments about my blog. 🙂

    Have a great day!!

    Jeanne

  4. Jeanne, as always, thanks for reading. I’m glad I remind you of your English friends. I say “cheers” to just about everything – from a phone call to a pint! I don’t always notice when I put in a particularly “English” phrase these days because I’ve been here so long, but I knew I would have to explain “Full Stop”. LOL.

    Thanks for the luck on the job! I may need it!

    Foxy

Comments are closed.