US News

Today is the day that Barak Obama becomes the 44th President of the United States. 

 

More than one person has said how ironic it is that I’m due to become British the day after Obama becomes sworn in.  I must say that I’m sad to be leaving the Americans behind on a day like today. 

 

It’s lovely that there’s finally someone in office that makes me proud to be American.  He’s intelligent, articulate, classy, dignified and inspiring.  The fact that he’s black is incidental for me.  For years I’ve tried to judge people by the content of their character and I cannot say enough good things about Barak Obama.  Sure, I’m delighted that it’s a first and it’s obviously a good thing for the African Americans of the country, but I am overjoyed that we finally have someone truly worthy of the role in the job.

 

If I was going to elect someone to represent America the LAST person I would get to do that would be George W Bush.  Why?  He is not the best of us.  He is the idiot lacking a village.  So when I say FINALLY it is a wonderful thing to have someone competent in Washington, I hope you can appreciate my relief at being able to hold my head up in public.  I’ve spent far too long feeling ashamed of being American.  I’m so happy that we have someone who represents the best of us in office. 

 

You know, Jimmy Carter wanted Americans to become more responsible and be less reliant on oil but Americans preferred to live another decade or two with their heads in the sand.  We now have to remember our responsibilities and not just frolic in the benefits of freedom.  I’m not talking about soldiers, sailors and pilots giving their lives, I’m talking about ALL US Citizens taking responsibility for their freedoms, their country, the environment and the world.

 

Let’s not forget it’s a terrible job he’s taken on.  You couldn’t pay me enough to take that job at the moment – with the economy the way it is.  I wish him luck – I’m afraid he’ll need it.

 

Actually I’m really glad I’m not in Washington DC at the moment.  I’m sitting here on the couch crying like a baby watching the proceedings.  What a soft heart I’ve got!  Luckily Helios is at work otherwise he’d call me a sausage.  I don’t know why “sausage” is the British term, but it’s accurate in English terms.

 

It was a wonderful speech.  I found myself glowing in pride.  He’s obviously preparing Americans for the hardships ahead but he’s so inspiring that I can’t help but think that he might actually lead Americans to greatness.

 

Peace to you.

 

Foxy

3 thoughts on “US News

  1. I am proud today too! What you have said is exactly right on. I hope that we can use this day, and continue to keep our heads up and move forward. Enjoy your day tomorrow; I enjoyed your post yesterday about your change Now, will you have dual citizenship, or, just there noW?

  2. Thanks for your comment, Allison. I hope that because I’m living abroad, I have a slightly different perspective about things… It’s nice to know I’m still right on though. Clearly I’m not as odd as I’d feared!

    Officially Americans who have dual nationality fall into a “Grey area” as far as Americans are concerned. It’s a little like “don’t ask, don’t tell” so I’ll remain American and not broadcast the fact that I’m also British to the American Government. They might try to make me choose and, if I had to, I’d choose to be British! It’s not just because of all the reasons I’ve already stated, it’s also because I have a flat here and if I sold it and made money I’d have to pay capital gains tax to the British Government as well as the American Government. As far as I’m concerned, I’m happy to remain both British and American so long as the Americans don’t want my money. I don’t earn a lot so they’re not missing anything – I can assure you – especially now that I’m between jobs!

    Thanks again for reading my blog.

    Foxy

  3. Ahhhh, good point! I was born in Germany, but, my mom didn’t want me to have dual citizenship because she didn’t want me to be enlisted into the army over there 😉 Haha!

Comments are closed.