My First Christmas with Helios

I managed to find our flat and moved in first.  I spent most of November decorating the flat – I spent a small fortune in Ikea!  I invited Helios to spend Christmas and New Year with me.  I was desperate for Helios to feel welcome.  I cleaned the place from top to bottom.  I cooked and cooked.  I made sure to buy all his favourite food – mince pies with warmed custard, biscuits, and many more sweets.  As much as I wanted him to love living with me, I also wanted to be sure that we got along as well as I expected we would. 

 

Unfortunately I didn’t have a sofa when I first moved in so Helios brought over a TV and we watched DVD’s while sitting on my yoga matt and cushions.  It was terribly uncomfortable but Helios didn’t complain once.  He used to say that he could live in a cardboard box so long as he was with me and I loved him for that. 

 

Luckily the bed was delivered before Christmas so we weren’t sleeping on the floor as well!  We had a great time.  I’ve never been so relaxed!  He seemed to love my cooking.  He didn’t spend the whole time complaining.  He liked my taste in décor.  Now, I know that watching football might sound boring, but after a number of years catering for the masses and not relaxing at all, it was exactly what I wanted.  Of course it took a little time to get used to the idea that Helios is so easy to live with and I used to fret over almost every meal but Helios regularly reassured me. 

 

I needed it too.  After more than 10 years of neglect, Helios was just what I needed in more ways than one.  I expect I still sometimes sound a little surprised that he’s so attentive.  I don’t mean to sound surprised in a bad way, I’m still not used to it.  Is that a bad thing?  I expect it means that I will always appreciate just how lucky I am.

 

After that Christmas, I told him that he was allowed to keep a shelf in the bathroom and that I didn’t want him to move in by stealth.  For the most part he accommodated my request.  In the meantime it didn’t take long for me to realise that I couldn’t resist him.  I still can’t. 

Happy Christmas everyone!

 

Foxy

