Laparoscopy

I finally had my surgery yesterday.  I’ve had a laparoscopy before – that’s where they go into your stomach via the belly button, fill you with gas so they can see what they’re doing, and then they poke a further two holes in you a little further South.  The rest is all about what they find and what they do about it.  I must admit that I was rather hoping that they would have found something that would have made them say “Foxy, let’s give you a hysterectomy!” but that’s not happened.  Unfortunately, I expect the surgeon would have said that if he thought that I should have it by now. 

 

In the meantime I feel like someone has kicked me in the stomach and I’m walking around the flat like an 80 year old.  Again, I mention Helios who took a number of days off work as holiday to take me to hospital look after me.  I haven’t had to lift a finger!  The food and drinks arrive regularly along with my tablets.  I get led and steadied everywhere I go and when I need to get up in the night, he’s patient and helps me to the toilet.  Ladies, if you ever get one who’s this good – keep hold of him with both hands!

 

I didn’t like the hospital.  Oh, don’t get me wrong, I’m delighted that the procedure is done but when I get to the place and I have to explain – more than once – what Insulin Resistance is and why I need protein at breakfast rather than just tea and cakes – it just doesn’t instil confidence, does it?  Honestly, everything on the breakfast menu was carbohydrate!  Cakes, toast, fruit and yoghurt – there was nothing there with an ounce of protein.  I put my request in and got some rolling eyes and more questions about Insulin Resistance.  Despite this, I tried to remain cheerful.  Later when I was on the table ready for surgery, I sung “Goodnight Sweetheart it’s time to go” as my anaesthetist gave me something to help me sleep… 

 

The endometriosis was widespread – located mostly on my womb, ovaries and bladder.  There was some on my bowel as well and it’s now been vaporised.  My surgeon said that I shouldn’t have HRT because HRT feeds endometriosis.  Isn’t that great.  Someone else hasn’t quite grasped the fact that I’m in a Catch 22 – if I’m taking things to help me cope with my polycystic ovaries it feeds my endometriosis, and if I am taking things to help me cope with my endometriosis my PCOS symptoms get far far worse.  It’s little wonder I want a hysterectomy – but I digress. 

 

The pain from the surgery hasn’t been unmanageable but there is some pain – I cannot stand up straight just yet.  I have to sleep on my back.  And where the evil nurse gave me an injection in my arm for my nausea – that still hurts.  Sneezing is scary and I’m trying hard not to get anything irritable up my nose.  Laughing isn’t an option either.

 

I have been told that pain in the shoulders is one of the side-effects of a laparoscopy – something to do with the gas that blows you up.  I’ve never had this problem but I expect this is because I’m a bit of a wriggler and movement is the best thing for any pain in the shoulders in this instance.

 

So surgery isn’t as scary as you may think.  It’s actually great if it helps and, these days, a laparoscopy is quite routine and far better than being cut from stem to stern to find endometriosis!

 

Foxy

10 thoughts on “Laparoscopy

  1. Ugh… I’m so sorry to hear about your catch22… I don’t know much about PCOS, so I didn’t realize that about the treatments for each feeding the other… ((gentle e-hugs)). I’m sorry to hear about that.
    I’m glad to hear that your lap went well though.
    Sorry about the needing to explain so many times about the insulin resistance… that’s just common sense to me… so I can’t believe that the hospital staff wouldn’t realize (and E – my husband – who is a CNA just kinda stared when I read that part to him)… Of course, I come from a medical family (father is an EMT, aunt is a RN, my other aunt on that side is studying for something else in the medical field, dad’s best friend (aka my uncle) is in the medical field somehow, cousin is a CNA, and I married a CNA, whose mom is a nurse, and whose sister wants to be a doctor…).
    It is scary sneezing after a lap… I’m not looking forward to that when I have my next one, since I sneeze a lot more since moving to the state we live in now.
    I’ve never had shoulder pain from a lap either. And with my last lap, while standing up straight wasn’t easy… I actually wanted to get up and walk around as soon as I woke up enough and got some water (stupid intubation)…. whereas with my previous lap I wanted nothing more than to stay laying down… and when before my last lap I had barely been out of bed in a few weeks….

  2. J

    Thanks for the e-hug. I needed that.

    Crikey! How many laps have you had? This is my third and at least I’m not with Ramman anymore… that’s another long story.

    I thought that “insulin resistance” was the kind of term that was self explanatory too – and I’m not medically trained. I stayed overnight again at the hospital and I kept drinking and drinking while lying down. BIG mistake. I wound up wondering if I needed to be sick and I was attacked by a nurse with a VERY large needle. She claimed that she needed to get it into the muscle and tried to turn me over but I got it in the arm instead. It hurt and I had what the Brits call “a little boo” and Helios told the nurse not to disturb me in the night on his way out – he was so cross!

    He’s gone out to get some tea. I’m pretty tired. I might get some sleep – if I’m lucky!
    Foxy

  3. Foxy
    You’re welcome… I know how it is to need them.
    I’ve had… two so far… I’m looking at number 3 quickly unless I can get approved to go back on birth control when I go see the rhuematologist on the 23rd. I completely understand long stories… my last lap is a part of why I’m not with the ex anymore (and honestly… it’s one of the few things that still hurts from our relationship…)
    I don’t know why it wouldn’t be self explanatory… but even if it isn’t… wouldn’t the fact of something to do with insulin be a big arrow to say “don’t feed this person carbs!!”? I stayed overnight for my last lap as well. oooooooh… nurses and big needles… never a good thing. I don’t blame him at all for being cross.
    Good luck with the sleep. And enjoy your tea 🙂
    J

  4. i just had a laparoscopy for stage III endometriosis 2 weeks ago. i can’t believe you have pcos AND endometriosis, what a raw deal. i hope the surgery helps to alleviate some of your symptoms.

  5. Dear Katery

    Many thanks for reading my blog, and for your kind words.

    I hope your surgery went smoothly and you’ve recovered well.

    Foxy

  6. is it normal to feel crams and have trouble urinating after a laparoscopy? i’m really worried cos most people feel ok after 3 days but its been a bit more than a week and i still feel sore.

  7. Dear Lana
    I thank you for reading my blog.
    I’m afraid I can only tell you what I’ve experienced. I’m still a little sore but it doesn’t effect my daily routine now. I think if you’d be best off going back to the doctor and getting answers – particularly if you have problems urinating.
    Good luck and keep me posted.
    Foxy

  8. Try a simple change in your diet that I recommended to my step-daughter who had been suffering from ovarian cysts, endometriosis and enlarged lymph nodes under the armpits. Replace whatever chicken you are eating with hormone-free organically grown chicken and switch to hormone free brown eggs if you’re eating the white ones. One of the little known causes of ovarian cysts and other female problems is excess estrogen and estrogen immitators from hormone fed animals and disposable plastic water bottles for starters. In 2 1/2 months of making this change and without any medications, vitamins, exotic herbs, etc. my step daughter returned to completely normal health. No ovarian issues; only healthy tissue as verified by her gynecologist. And her lymph nodes had returned to normal by the time the radiologist and surgeon checked her in pre-op. Nothing was found, everything is healthy again. Surgeries cancelled. Once the sources of the problems was removed, her body healed itself completely.

Comments are closed.