Endometriosis, PCOS, Insulin Resistance and any other maladies I can think of…

Let me introduce myself.  I am 37.  I live in England but am originally American.  This means that it doesn’t matter how I spell things – it will always be wrong!  I have a number of issues – listed above – and I have finally lost my patience with my body. 

 

Instead of going on an alcohol and ammunition fuelled rampage, I’ve decided to go on line and have a moan instead. 

 

Endometriosis

The websites I have seen say that the first symptoms of Endometriosis are when women appear to have a hard time conceiving but I think that I first had Endometriosis issues when I first started my periods – at the tender age of 12.  Back then I would vomit from the pain.  I suppose at least back then there was a physical effect that everyone could see even though no one appeared to know that my problem was Endometriosis.  Since then I’ve had to learn how to express what pain I have and how strong it is – what drugs work and what else I have to do when the drugs don’t help (hot water bottles, stretching and rolling around in bed in agony).

 

Poly-Cystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS)

I first learned that I have PCOS back in 2005 but still don’t quite understand how or why it all works.  If I’m not mistaken, my ovaries are covered in cysts and this affects my oestrogen levels.  This means that I’m plagued by another silent malady.  I’d have more sympathy if I were bleeding from the eyes but, of course, since there are no overt symptoms everyone thinks that I’m completely normal and they have no idea why I’m pulling my hair out.

 

Insulin Resistance

Yet another silent malady that wasn’t diagnosed until 2005.  I like to call this pre-diabetes since everything that I have to do to control my insulin levels are similar to the things that someone that someone with diabetes has to do – I take Metformin and I’m on a low carbohydrate, low glycaemic load diet. 

 

All Together Now

It’s not easy.  Luckily I’ve got a fantastic husband who is patient and looks after me (even when I don’t want him to).  It’s hard to feel attractive and happy when I’m in pain.  I don’t feel sexy when I’ve grown hair in places a girl shouldn’t have hair.  Again, it’s nice to be in a relationship where I don’t have to worry about trying to be perfect.  I am just myself and we’re comfortable together.

 

I’ve therefore chosen a pen-name that reflects how I feel about myself – sometimes.

 

Foxy

7 thoughts on “Endometriosis, PCOS, Insulin Resistance and any other maladies I can think of…

  1. While i havent been diagnosed yet I am being tested for everything you have listed here. I’m waiting anxiously for results. Nice to know I’m not alone.

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog. Endometriosis sucks. I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy – as a sufferer, I’m sure you know why. Venting about endometriosis pain is the great therapy especially at 3 in the morning when no one is awake to listen to you.

    BTW – I wish I was living across the Pond. 🙂

  3. kasdaniels,

    Thanks very much for your comment.

    I hope for your sake that you don’t have the full compliment of maladies I have! The PCOS test is usually a simple scan – usually a little uncomfortable but not agony. The test for Insulin Resistance is a number of blood tests over a morning – the first a fasting blood test and the rest after a nice sugary drink.

    Unfortunately Endometriosis is only fully diagnosed with a laparoscopy. I’ve had a number of those and can tell you that they’re not scary either. I’ll be blogging about my laparoscopies in the near future.

    Take care.

    Foxy

  4. Hi Foxy,

    I have PCOS and endometriosis too. I’ve been trying for 7 years to get pregnant and it hasn’t happened yet. My DH and I are moving forward to the next option.

    I hope everything goes well for you.

  5. well tests have come back and the dr is scheduling a laparoscopy for me. hes 99% sure i have endo. apparently my glucose and insulin were normal so i guess thats good. still nervous about surgery though…this will be a first.

  6. kasdaniels,

    I’m delighted that your glucose and insulin levels are normal. Anything that can narrow down your diagnosis is a bonus. As for the laparoscopy, I’ve done a new blog entry for you and everyone else in your situation. I hope it is a help to you. Please let me know how you get on.

    Foxy

  7. Dear Eviena

    Thanks for taking the time to read my blog. I know the symptoms of PCOS and Endometriosis are hard enough to deal with without the added stress of trying to fall pregnant. I wish you all the luck in the world.

    Foxy

Comments are closed.